Steve Reich – Music for Mallet instruments Voices and Organ

Coming to the work of Steve Reich as late as I have has made me wonder what else I have missed. Hearing “Music for Mallet instruments Voices and Organ” for the first time was such a revelatory experience for me that I’ve branched off into a completely new era of listening, constantly making new connections with my “traditional” catalogue.

The work of all four of the great Minimalist composers is best summed up for me in this one piece with its complexity, tonality, depth of texture and purity. This will be the work that I suggest to other listeners exploring Minimalism for the first time.

Hear an excellent performance of it here and listen out for the changes of key which signal the change to a new movement.

Leave a Reply

