La Monte Young – The Well Tuned Piano

Listening to The Well-Tuned Piano evolved for me, starting as a bit of a challenge as I got to grips with the concept and moving into a truly pleasurable experience.

As I spent more time with the music I began to stop making academic demands of the piece and just experience the effect that the “Just” tuning has on the listener.

Unusually for me, the music conjured up images of a particular place, Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater, which I’ve never visited but which seems to fit nicely with the music. Maybe we can fit music and architecture together after all.

Leave a Reply

