Mark–Anthony Turnage – Lament for a Hanging Man

I’ve never heard anything from Turnage before so it was nice to hear something fresh.

I can see what he was trying to do here and he (probably) succeeded.

It does sound to me like an opera piece but without the benefit of finding out what’s going on in the opera. I feel that the music would have been better served without a fabulously over-vibrato’d valkyrie overruling the instruments.

I heard the version on Spotify but I’ll search out other versions of this as it probably deserves more attention and another listen.

Leave a Reply

